Call for artistic projects

Real environment / Virtual environment

"To walk, to breathe, to stop, to feel, to look, to move, to play. To adapt, to live with what is around us. Being there." We live in the environment around us, and it influences us. An environment that we choose, that we test, that we create, or more often that is imposed on us. Paradox of this constrained freedom; it is at the same time rich, and constitutive. The spaces around us are shifting, malleable, unpredictable, confusing, while looking familiar. They are part of us and seem natural, and acquired. This body/environment link can then become blurred, enabling us to ignore our living spaces on different levels: private, collective, terrestrial.

2022 Theme

The creation of virtual environments can allow us to question these sensations by opening a new gaze onto what we live, and thus, onto other spaces of reflection: it can invite us to reflect on our experience in a more conscious way. The virtual environment can imitate the real, but it can also draw away from its limits completely; the virtual has its own codes. So, what are these codes and how do they allow the emergence of new possible spaces? Then, how can we rethink these codes with regard to the different possible virtual spaces? How to imagine the possible passages between real and virtual environments? And how to consider the spectator who is present in immersion and in interaction inside these spaces, and the impacts perceived by him/her?

Artistic explorations:

This call for applications offers the possibility to explore the link between real and virtual environments, by opening several axes of artistic explorations, such as

- The representation of the realistic or imaginary environment
- The creation of abstract, mathematical, generative environments.
- Parallel, multi-faceted, complementary environments.
- The possible hybridizations between real and virtual environments
- The passage between the real and the virtual
- Presence in a virtual environment, and multi-user social presence.
- Illusionary effects between real and virtual environments
- The paradoxes and explorations specific to the virtual
- The relational aesthetics between the artwork and the spectator
- The questions of environments with regard to our society
- The sensitive relationships and the embodied conscience of one’s environment
- etc.

Recto VRso questions new immersive and interactive art forms, between the real and the virtual. The selected artworks have to resonate with the theme and invite the exploration of emerging expressions using virtual, augmented, or mixed reality, immersive devices, interactive interfaces, robotics, multidimensional spatialization, presence effects, etc. Hybrid and transdisciplinary approaches are particularly appreciated.

Call for projects

Art&VR Gallery

Since its creation in 2018, the Recto VRso festival highlights international digital artists and artworks. The Art&VR Gallery is the official exhibition of Recto VRso which presents about fifteen artworks selected after an international call for applications. Each year, one of the artists also receives a Laval Virtual Award in the Art&VR category during the prize-giving ceremony of the Laval Virtual exhibition, held on April 12-14, 2022.

Call for projects

In Situ Experimentation

For its 5th edition, the Recto VRso festival is launching a new call for projects: IN SITU EXPERIMENTATION. This call aims to create a significant link between art practices and three emblematic places of Laval (Mayenne, France): the MANAS, the Bateau-Lavoir Saint-Julien and the Bain Douches. Artists, curators, art students or even institutions can take over one of these spaces to develop or create an art project. The residency will take place on April 4-12, 2022, and will be followed by an exhibition on April 12-17, 2022.

Appel à projets artistiques

Environnement réel / Environnement virtuel

"Marcher, respirer, s'arrêter, ressentir, regarder, bouger, jouer. S’adapter, vivre avec ce qui est autour de nous. Être là." Nous habitons l’environnement autour de nous, et il nous influence. Un environnement que nous choisissons, que nous testons, que nous créons, ou plus souvent qui s’impose à nous. Paradoxe de cette liberté contrainte, et en même temps riche, et constituante. Les espaces autour de nous sont mouvants, malléables, imprévisibles, déroutants, tout en paraissant familiers. Ils font partie de nous et paraissent naturels, et acquis. Ce lien corps / environnement peut alors s’estomper, pouvant nous amener à négliger nos espaces de vie sur différents niveaux : privés, collectifs, terrestres."

Thématique 2022

La création d’environnements virtuels peut permettre de repenser ces sensations en nous apportant un autre regard sur ce que nous vivons, et ainsi ouvrir d’autres espaces de réflexion : elle peut nous inviter à réfléchir notre vécu de manière plus consciente. L’environnement virtuel peut imiter le réel, mais peut aussi complètement s’extraire de ses limites, le virtuel ayant ses propres codes. Quels sont alors ces codes et comment permettent-ils l'émergence de nouveaux espaces possibles ? Comment imaginer les passages possibles entre environnements réel et virtuel ? Et comment considérer le.a spectateur.trice présent en immersion et en interaction dans ces espaces, et les impacts ressentis ?

Axes d'exploration

Cet appel à candidature offre la possibilité d’explorer le lien entre environnement réel et virtuel, en ouvrant plusieurs axes d’explorations artistiques, tels que :

- La représentation de l’environnement réaliste ou imaginaire
- La création d’environnement abstrait, mathématique, génératif.
- Les environnements parallèles, multi-facettes, complémentaires.
- Les hybridations possibles entre environnement réel et virtuel
- Le passage entre le réel et le virtuel
- La présence dans un environnement virtuel, et présence sociale multi-utilisateur.
- Les jeux d’illusions entre environnement réel et environnement virtuel
- Les paradoxes et les explorations propres au virtuel
- L’esthétique relationnelle entre l’oeuvre et le spectateur
- Les questions d’environnements au regard de notre société
- Les rapports sensibles et la conscience incarnée de son environnement
- etc.

Recto VRso interroge de nouvelles formes artistiques immersives et interactives, entre le réel et le virtuel. Les œuvres sélectionnées doivent résonner avec le thème et invitent à explorer des expressions émergentes utilisant la réalité virtuelle, augmentée au mixte, des dispositifs immersifs, des interfaces interactives, la robotique, la spatialisation multidimensionnelle, les effets de présence, etc. Les approches hybrides et transdisciplinaires sont particulièrement appréciées.

Appel à projets

Art&VR Gallery

Depuis sa création en 2018, le festival Recto VRso met en valeur des œuvres et artistes d’art numérique internationaux. L’Art&VR Gallery est l’exposition officielle de Recto VRso qui présente une quinzaine d’œuvres. Chaque année, un des artistes exposés à l’Art&VR Gallery est également récompensé par un Laval Virtual Award dans la catégorie Art&VR lors de la cérémonie de remise des prix organisée dans le cadre du salon Laval Virtual, qui aura lieu du 12 au 14 avril 2022.

Appel à projets

In Situ Experimentation

Pour sa 5e édition, le festival Recto VRso lance un nouvel appel à projets : IN SITU EXPERIMENTATION. Cet appel a pour but de créer un lien important entre les pratiques artistiques et trois lieux emblématiques de la ville de Laval : le MANAS, le Bateau-Lavoir Saint-Julien et les Bains Douches. Artistes, curateurs, étudiants en art ou même institutions peuvent s'approprier un de ces lieux pour développer ou créer un projet artistique. La résidence qui aura lieu du 4 au 12 avril 2022, sera suivie d'une exposition du 12 au 17 avril.